Days of the Week

We have seven days in a week. The days from Monday to Friday are called weekdays. These are the days when many people go to work or school. Saturday and Sunday are known as the weekend. Yay! It's time for rest, fun, and doing things you enjoy. 

Names of the days

  1. Monday
  2. Tuesday
  3. Wednesday
  4. Thursday
  5. Friday
  6. Saturday
  7. Sunday
🗣️ Learn the American pronunciation of the days
🗣️ Learn the British pronunciation of the days

Days of the Week

We always start the names of these days with a capital letter. So it's not "monday" or "friday" – it's "Monday" and "Friday".

Weekdays: Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday

Weekend: Saturday, Sunday

Days of the week/Weekdays

Days of the week and weekdays are not the same. Days of the week are all the days from Monday to Sunday—there are seven of them.

Now, weekdays are a little different. Weekdays are only the five days from Monday to Friday. These are the days when we have regular routines and responsibilities.

So, in short, all weekdays are the days of the week, but not all days of the week are weekdays. Weekdays are just a part of the entire week.


People often use abbreviations to make writing or speaking about days quicker. Here are some common abbreviations.

  • Mon. for Monday
  • Tue. for Tuesday
  • Wed. for Wednesday
  • Thu. for Thursday
  • Fri. for Friday.
  • Sat. for Saturday
  • Sun. for Sunday